Sharing My Camera Collection on the Web

Kodak Bantam 4.5 c.1938-48

Kodak Bantam 4.5 c.1938-48

Since film cameras are becoming increasingly rare these days, I thought it might be interesting to start posting photos of the cameras in my collection. I’ve been collecting old cameras since I was about 12 years old, so the collection is pretty sizable. It isn’t, however, very valuable, since most of my collection consists of American made cameras. I’m particularly fond of folding cameras and non-folders made of bakelite. Some of these have Art Deco designs that are particularly nice.

Starting today, I’m beginning another blog titled “Old Cameras From My Collection” (link opens in a new window).  I’ll be working my way through the collection, photographing and writing about them, either individually or in groups. I’ll also be adding a brief bit of history on some of them, since the story of camera manufacturing in this country is both fascinating and unsung. Please check out this new blog as I construct it, and PLEASE ADD YOUR COMMENTS. I’d really like to hear from you.

This blog, of course will continue to be about travel, family, local events, and photos of wherever I happen to be at any given time – so don’t stop coming here!

2 Responses to Sharing My Camera Collection on the Web

  1. theasley says:

    That’s a slick-lookin’ camera. And I agree with the unsung bit. I know virtually nothing about camera history.

  2. museditions says:

    Splendid! A photo of a photographing machine! I’m pleased you are documenting these as they are so much a part of cultural history. Mechanical cameras are going the way of mechanical watches: still there, but little used.

Leave a Reply

